Carmel Art Association

Founded in 1927, Carmel’s oldest gallery features the work of more than 100 professional local artists, and is dedicated to presenting only the finest work for sale by artists living on the Monterey Peninsula. The Carmel Art Association displays a wide variety of styles and media, and changes its exhibitions every month. The historic building provides exhibition space for its members’ works and in the interest of community involvement sponsors film series, lectures, concerts, art demonstrations and special fund-raising events. The Carmel Art Association is a 501(c)(3).

The Carmel Art Association, a non-profit organization, has a long and proud heritage. Many of its early members were among the great early California artists including notables Armin Hansen, William Ritschel, Paul Dougherty, Mary DeNeale Morgan, Percy Gray, Francis McComas, E. CharIton Fortune, John O’Shea and many more. The purpose and spirit of the Association’s founding members continues today and it has retained its identity as an artist owned and operated sales gallery for over 87 years.

The Carmel Art Association is governed by a fifteen-member Board of Directors, each serving a three-year term. Each year five Board Members rotate off the Board, making way for five new Board Members.

2020 Board Members: Lilli-anne Price, President; Will Bullas, 1st Vice President; Kate Martin, 2nd Vice President; Stan Robbins, Treasurer; Sheila Delimont, Secretary, Chloe Wilson, Secretary; plus, Gael Donovan, Doug Downs, Christine Crozier, Alice Geller Robertson, Susan Giacometti, Dennis Peak, , Dennis Stanford, Jan Wagstaff.

The gallery continues to win awards each year, most recently: “The Award of Excellence” (Carmel Chamber of Commerce), “Golden Pine Cone Award” (The Carmel Pine Cone) and “Best Art Gallery in Monterey County” (Monterey County Weekly).

Sign Up to Receive Our Monthly What’s New Email